Bridgology

Located in Lausanne, Switzerland we are consultants specialized in Ground Penetrating Radar data analysis. We participate to structure maintenance in providing our customers with clear and synthetic visualization tools dedicated to rehabilitation work for planning and decision making. We are involved in diagnosis, assessment and monitoring stages with analyzing disorders like voids, moisture and chlorides present within the structure, and we synthesize this information in maps of the structure.

To find more details on our case studies click here.

About us

Bridgology was founded 2013 by Alexis Kalogeropoulos, PhD a specialist in Ground Penetrating Radar applied to civil engineering. Bridgology is the result of a project initiated 10 years ago :

It all began in 2005 with Karakas & Français SA, where the first GPR applications have been developed : inspection of tunnels, utility detection and thicknesses calculations; however further development became necessary.

Therefore, a collaboration of more than 7 years was established with Dr. Johannes Hugenschmidt HSR ; it led to the publication of an article on the inspection of retaining walls with GPR; then in obtaining a research grant FNS for a doctorate on the determination of chloride and moisture content in concrete with GPR.

This PhD, obtained in 2012, was held under the joint supervision of Dr. Johannes Hugenschmidt then at EMPA, of Prof. Eugen Brühwiler EPFL, and of Prof. Jan Van der Kruk ETHZ then FZJ.

Today, Dr. Kalogeropoulos contributes to scientific community as a reviewer for scientific journals like NDT&E International and Near Surface Geophysics. Finally, he teaches at EPFL in introducing Masters to GPR, and with providing digital signal processing teachings to doctoral school.

Bridgology

Situés à Lausanne en Suisse, nous sommes un Bureau d'Experts-Conseils spécialisé dans l’analyse de données Géoradar. Nous opérons dans la maintenance des infrastructures, en proposant à nos clients des outils de visualisation, clairs et synthétiques pour la planification des travaux ainsi que la prise de décision. Nous intervenons dans le diagnostic comme dans le suivi des ouvrages, en analysant des désordres – vides, humidité et chlorures – puis en les représentant sur les plans de l'ouvrage.

Voici quelques résultats récents, pour plus de détails cliquez-ici.

A notre propos

Le bureau Bridgology a été fondé en 2013 par un spécialiste du Géoradar appliqué au Génie civil, le Dr. Alexis Kalogeropoulos. Bridgology est le résultat d'un projet qu'il a initié depuis dix ans:

Tout commence en 2005 au sein du Bureau Karakas & Français SA, où des premières applications Géoradar ont été développées pour la Géotechnique : inspection de tunnels, détection d'objets et calculs d'épaisseurs. Ces études prometteuses ont confirmé l'utilité des méthodes non-destructives dans le Génie Civil, néanmoins des limites théoriques et pratiques sont apparues ; c'est pourquoi un développement plus approfondi s'avéra nécessaire.

Dès lors, une collaboration de plus de 7 ans fut établie avec le Dr. Johannes Hugenschmidt HSR ; elle a mené à la publication d'un article sur l'inspection des murs de soutènement par Géoradar; puis à l'obtention d'un fonds de recherche FNS pour un thèse sur la détermination de la teneur en chlorure du béton par Géoradar.

Ce doctorat, soutenu en 2012, a été réalisé sous la supervision conjointe du Dr. Johannes Hugenschmidt alors à l'EMPA, du Prof. Eugen Brühwiler EPFL, et du Prof. Jan Van der Kruk ETHZ puis FZJ.

A présent, le Dr. Kalogeropoulos contribue à la communauté scientifique en faisant partie du comité de lecture de revues spécialisées telles que NDT&E International et Near Surface Geophysics. Enfin, il intervient à l'ENAC à l'EPFL en présentant le Géoradar aux Masters, ainsi qu'en donnant un cours de traitement du signal au sein de l'école doctorale.